Auto Transform (Roger Webb)

Ok end of the first week and I think “Slow” is the best word to describe progress so far, but I’m pleased to announce (Sooo very pleased, you wouldn’t believe!) that all the sanding and filing on “Black Scorpion’s” original figure is now complete, her right arm will need filing down at some point but I’ll worry about that as and when. I began by holding my electrical circular sander upside down between my knees and gently touching the back of her head and arm onto the spinning disk and removing as much of the hair as I black scorpion 5dare (shame I couldn’t just use “Imac” or “Wax” but they sadly won’t cut it with white metal!), then it was out with the needle files and many “happy” hours of filing away the rest of the unwanted hair and surface detail, I used a sharp knife to carve away the bits where a file just wouldn’t reach, and then using a small piece of sand paper I smoothed out any obvious file marks. Lastly this week I took a pair of pliers and teased her left foot up at the back as I’ve got to add high heels to her boots at some point (in the film these disappear and reappear depending upon what she is doing, but as so did Wonder Woman’s in the old series I’ll let her off on this).

As you can see from the photograph “Aftershock” has Aftershock (2)also had a bit of a run in with the scalpel, this is because although the clothing on the original “Jean Grey” figure is pretty close her pose with hand to her temple wasn’t. I have an idea of what arm/arms (her right might have to go as well yet), but we’ll see about that later. I’ve also removed her belt buckle and the detail lines on the thighs of her costume. The blue-tack on her foot is just there to keep her upright until I get her mounted onto a tuppence (next job).

Lastly we come to the “Gangster’ Prankster”, and there’s really been very little progress on him at all.gangsta 2 I’ve carved away the question mark on his chest and the flared backs of his gloves as these need to fit under the sleeves of his jacket. I’ve also removed his question mark walking stick, I plan to replace this with his “supersoaker” style water pistol full of acid (what a lovely chap he is!).

Finally I’m happy to report that I only got one metal splinter in my finger this week, that’s pretty good for me, I half expected at least one trip to casualty.

Anyway I should be on safer ground from this point on, so till next week Excelsior!!

Cheers Roger.

https://rantingsfromunderthewargamestable.wordpress.com/2016/06/04/auto-transform/

Leave a Reply

