Forgotten Heroes W.I.P part 1 (Simon Moore)

HeroClixgu

As like some of my other fellow bloggers, the majority of this month will be dedicated to converting and painting a small number of ‘superhero-related’ miniatures which a wargamer can’t otherwise purchase, or at least, whose model is in some way a disappointment. My ‘Forgotten Heroes’ will, perhaps unsurprisingly, mainly consist of “Heroclix” adaptations, and to begin with I thought I’d try my hand at quantity over quality by creating five bobble-hat wearing goons for my “DC Comics” supervillain Mister Freeze. I’ve found myself somewhat frustrated by the lack of suitable “Wizkids” manufactured minions for the cryogenically-suited scientist, so have decided to make some minions similar in appearance to those seen in the 1967 “Batman” television episodes “Ice Spy” and “The Duo Defy”.

These simple conversions were created by drilling, and then pinning, a small amount of grey-stuff on top of the head of five “Heroclix” Lackey miniatures, and then patiently dappling them with a modelling knife in order to try and create a woolly-looking bobble. Now dry, they will each be given grey trousers and blue jumpers, as well as white and blue hats.

CopplestonemI have also been patiently waiting for ‘Forgotten Heroes’ month to start in order to paint my altered “Copplestone Castings” model of a female Scavenger Hero. There are admittedly, already a couple of nice sculpts depicting a likeness of Imperator Furiosa from the 2015 motion picture “Mad Max: Fury Road” available. But as my post-apocalyptic project will be exclusively using models made by Mark Copplestone I wanted to try and ‘transform’ one of the former Foundry sculptor’s Future Wars figures into an approximation of Charlize Theron’s character.

As a result I have been busily progressing Immortan Joe’s soldier by picking out her charcoal trousers, leather belt and waist pouches, alongside the shaven-headed sharpshooter’s formidable-looking sniper rifle. Having now finished her the base colours for her backpack, straps and vest, I hope to have Mad Max’s ally completed within the next few days.

http://fantorical.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/forgotten-heroes-wip-part-one.html

4 thoughts on “Forgotten Heroes W.I.P part 1 (Simon Moore)”

  1. Looks awesome! Who makes grey-stuff so I can try it out? I have used the green stuff that games workshop used to sell back in the day. I now use Milliput (Superfine) and Tamiya Putty a lot. These products work well for me. The best product though this year that I have fond is called a Gundam Marker. I found out about it from doing all my robot kits. It is a very fine paint marker that you can use to do fine detail work. My only complaint is that it only lasts for about two robot kits. I have been getting them of Amazon.com in many colors. I use black the most. You can check out my other robot kits and cool stuff at:

    https://www.flickr.com/photos/boyntonartstudio/albums

    Cheers,
    Mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

