Jenny Everywhere – part 2 (Kaptain Kobold)

It’s been a few days since I’ve had a chance to sit down with Jenny Everywhere and actually progress her. On Friday I painted the blue plastic with grey paint in order to see what I was working with better. At various spare moments this weekend I scraped and cut with a modelling knife to tidy the figure up. This is the result:

IMG_1350IMG_1351

The print process does leave a very rough figure (my printer is cheap and nasty and doesn’t do the ultra fine resolution of the ones that, say, Shapeways use), but I did my best. Some of the rough edges would be hidden by any clothing I model onto her, and, as I discovered with my Captain UK conversion, I can work wonders with partially dried wood glue.
The next stage was to decide on clothing. The figure is already modelled with what appear to be high-heel ankle-boots, so I was happy to work with those. The two items required by the character’s description were the flying goggles on the head, and a pilot’s scarf. Both of these were really the last items which to be added,
There was a piece at the back of the figure which looked like a very, very short skirt, so I decided to build on that and give her a short skirt and a jacket, both things I thought would be within my modelling capabilities. It took about an hour of teasing putty into place, but I got there in the end, and there was just enough left over to do the scarf and goggles.
 IMG_1352IMG_1353To be honest I’m not totally happy with how she looks now, but I’m hoping that once the putty hardens I can shave and file it a bit to tidy things up. And then there’s always the wood glue. and if the worst come to the worst I can hide stuff with paint. The goggle came out OK though.
Leave a Reply

