In Full Bloom! (Michael Awdry)

  Some with the end of June fast approaching I am delighted to present for your delight and delectation my completed ‘Audrey II’.  This has been, without doubt, one of my most ridiculous undertakings to date, but one that has proved to be a truly delightful distraction.

When it came to the painting, I slowly, but surely, started to build up the layers of green around the base and neck leaving only the mouth to contend with.  This has been my greatest worry throughout the build, but in the end I used the musical version of ‘Audrey II’ as a point of reference and enjoyed the added splash of colour the mouth and lips brought to the piece.

Whilst I knew that I wanted to pay homage to the intergalactic, carnivorous plant star of the 1986 musical film, ‘Little Shop of Horrors’, I could not have envisaged the way the project developed and led to all sorts of wonderful diversions.      Even with the addition of cast members and companion pieces, my addled brain continues to dream up additional accessories and scenarios.  Already plans are afoot for a more permanent home for ‘Audrey II’ and this in turn might call for a return to my ‘Paranormal Exterminators’ project, perhaps even calling in assistance from ‘Mystery Inc.’

All that remains is to thank all my fellow contributors that have helped make this another great year of madcap modelling, sculpting, cutting and converting, but a special thanks must go to Roger Webb who has tirelessly reposted all our entries on to the ‘Forgotten Heroes’ site.  I leave with one final shot as ‘Audrey II’ makes an exciting discovery in the lost lands of ‘Awdry Towers’!

I’ve given you sunlight, I’ve given you rain
Looks like you’re not happy, ‘Less I open a vein

http://28mmvictorianwarfare.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/in-full-bloom.html

1 thought on “In Full Bloom! (Michael Awdry)”

Leave a Reply

